History

Staplehurst Free Church began in 1969 when a group of like-minded Christians began meeting in homes throughout the village.  As this group grew, so came the need to own a meeting hall.  The first church building was purchased in 1975 and was situated in front of Tall Tree Lodge – the home of Robert and Marion Taylor.  Robert, at that time was the leader of the fellowship.
Over time the congregation continued to grow and by 1989 it became necessary to purchase a larger building.  We bought a hall that was originally built in 1925 and had served for many years as the Village Hall.  The building served us for many years until it was eventually demolished in 2006.  In December 2012 we opened our brand new building which has already proved to be a hub for both worship and community based activities.  Our congregation is now a vibrant group of approximately 90 adults and 30-40 young people.